Print Page | Contact Us | Sign In | Register
2020 Annual Conference Dallas Agenda
Share |

TONL 2020 Annual Conference Dallas Agenda

“Crisis in Healthcare: Preparing Nurse Leaders to Respond”
February 20 – 21, 2020 | Texas Health Presbyterian Hospital in Dallas, Texas

Click on each day below to review the agenda. - There is a link to download the presentation file next to each session name.
12:00 pm - 1:00 pm Registration and Lunch

Location: Reception Foyer/ Haggar Hall

1:00 pm - 4:00 pm Pre-Conference Workshop

How Leaders Can Create a Speak Up Culture by Developing Emotional Intelligence in Themselves and Their Teams

Bonnie Artman Fox - Professional Speaker/Trainer and Leadership Coach, The Healthy Workforce Institute

Location: Fogelson Auditorium

5:30 pm - 7:00 pm Welcome Reception

Location: Westin Dallas Park Central - Elevate Room


7:00 am - 8:00 am Registration/Breakfast/Exhibits

Location: Reception/ Haggar Hall/ Fogelson Auditorium Upper Foyer

8:00 am - 8:10 am Welcome

Location: Fogelson Auditorium

8:10 am - 9:25 am Opening Keynote

Celebrate Nurse Leaders: Human by Birth - Hero by Choice

Renee Thompson, DNP, RN, CMSRN, CSP - President and CEO - The Healthy Workforce Institute

Location: Fogelson Auditorium

9:25 am - 9:45 am Exhibits

Location: Fogelson Auditorium Upper Foyer, Haggar Hall

9:45 am - 11:00 am Panel Discussion

Caring for Patients with Behavioral Health Problems in a Non-Behavioral Healthcare Setting

Renee Thompson, DNP, RN, CMSRN, CSP - President and CEO - The Healthy Workforce Institute

Cameron Brown - Staff Care Chaplain, Cook Children's Health Care System
Lynda Carmouche, LCSW - Licensed Clinical Social Worker/Psychotherapist, Texas Health Resources
Catherine "Cassie" Thompson, MSN, RN, CCRN - PMHNP Student, Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center

Location: Fogelson Auditorium

11:00 am - 12:00 pm TONL Talks

Rural Hospital Closure Crisis

Jaci SuLynn Mester, MSN, RN, DNP Student - Chief Nursing Officer, Childress Regional Medical Center

The Impact of Centralized Operations Team (COT) on Discharge Before Noon (DBN)- Download Presentation

Nelson Tuazon, DNP, DBA, RN, NEA-BC, CENP, CPHQ, FACHE - VP/ACNO, University Health System

Director of Nursing Turnover: Intervening with a Long-Term Care Leadership Round Table - Download Presentation

Priscilla Stansell, MSN, RN-BC - Assistant Professor, TTUHSC-SON

Location: Fogelson Auditorium

12:00 pm - 1:15 pm Luncheon/Exhibits/Poster Session

Location: Haggar Hall, Fogelson Auditorium Upper Foyer, Reception Foyer

1:15 pm - 1:30 pm TONL Excellence Award and Scholarship Presentations

Location: Fogelson Auditorium

1:30 pm - 2:30 pm General Session

Managing Nursing Cognitive, Documentation, and Communication Burden in Complex Information Systems - Download Presentation

Mary Beth Mitchell, RN, MSN, BC, CPHIMS - Chief Nursing Informatics Officer, Texas Health Resources

Location: Fogelson Auditorium

2:30 pm - 2:45 pm Exhibits

Location: Fogelson Auditorium Upper Foyer, Haggar Hall

2:45 pm - 3:30 pm General Session

Public Policy and the Impact on Healthcare - Download Presentation

William Stephen (Steve) Love - President and CEO, Dallas-Fort Worth Hospital Council

Location: Fogelson Auditorium

3:30 pm - 4:15 pm Closing Session

The Nurse Leader's Role in Crisis Management - Download Presentation

Amy Daher, MSN, RN, NE-BC - Assistant Chief Nursing Officer, University Medical Center of El Paso

Location: Fogelson Auditorium

4:15 pm Evaluations/Door Prizes/Annual Business Meeting/Scholarship Presentation & Adjournment - Download Business Meeting Presentation

Location: Fogelson Auditorium


In support of improving patient care, this activity has been planned and implemented by Texas Health Resources and the Texas Organization for Nursing Leadership. Texas Health Resources is jointly accredited by the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME), the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education (ACPE), and the American Nurses Credentialing Center (ANCC), to provide continuing education for the healthcare team.

Joint Accreditation logo